Send to

Park replaces senior officials

Jan. 15, 2016 - 18:21 By Korea Herald
 President Park Geun-hye on Friday carried out a reshuffle of six senior-level government posts, mostly to replace those who have recently stepped down to run in the parliamentary elections, slated for April.

Vice Minister of Science, ICT and Future Planning Lee Suk-joon was tapped as government policy coordination minister at the Prime Minister’s Office, Cheong Wa Dae spokesperson Jeong Yeong-guk said in a briefing.
Government Policy Coordination Minister-designate Lee Suk-joon

The given post, though classified as ministerial level, does not require a confirmation hearing.

Lee’s predecessor Choo Kyung-ho recently resigned to run for a parliamentary seat in Daegu’s Dalseong District, which used to be the president’s constituency.

“Having served as vice minister of strategy and finance, as well as standing committee member of the Financial Services Commission, Lee has profound understanding on creative economy and state affairs in general,” the spokesman said.

Choi Sang-mok, presidential secretary for economy and finance, was named first vice minister of strategy and finance, and Hong Nam-ki, presidential secretary of planning, as first vice minister of science, ICT, and future planning.

“Choi will play a key role in stabilizing the nation’s economy and structural reforms,” Jeong said.

Regional administration director Kim Sung-lyul was promoted as vice minister of interior, and Deputy Trade Minister Woo Tae-hee as second vice minister of Trade, Industry and Energy.

“Kim is an expert in personnel and organization issues who will propel the Interior Ministry’s key policies and Woo, a trade and industry specialist, will contribute to the nation’s industrial development,” the spokesman said.

As new deputy vice chairman of the watchdog FSC, current deputy vice minister of strategy and finance Jeong Eun-bo was appointed.

Joo Young-sup, professor at Seoul National University’s Graduate School of Convergence Science and Technology, was named to head the Small and Medium Business Administration.

By Bae Hyun-jung (