Russia sweeps walk titles with Bakulin's 50km
Published : Sep 3, 2011 - 12:45
Updated : Sep 3, 2011 - 14:16
South Korea’s Park Chil-sung sets national record
From news reports
Daegu -- Sergey Bakulin led Russia to a 1-2 finish in the world men's 50km race walk title on Saturday to further confirm the country's top ranking in the gruelling discipline, AFP reported.

   Bakulin, the world leader this season, clocked 3hr 41min 24sec around the street circuit in downtown Daegu, with fellow Russian Denis Nizhegorodov taking silver (3:42.45) and Australian Jared Tallent claiming bronze (3:43.36).

   Bakulin, 24, capitalised on the early red carding of Frenchman Yohann Diniz, the 2007 world silver medallist, and the withdrawal of pacesetter Nathan Deakes of Australia, who pulled up with cramp in his left hamstring.

Sergey Bakulin of Russia cools himself during the men's 50km race walk in Daegu on Saturday. Yonhap News

   As soon as the Russian overtook Deakes, the 2007 world champion, after 35km the race was effectively his, with Tallent losing silver to world record holder Nizhegorodov in the closing stages.

   Defending champion Sergey Kirdyapkin of Russia pulled up at the 30km mark. 

   Russia also claimed the other race walking medal on offer at these worlds, Olympic champion Olga Kaniskina powering to an unprecedented third consecutive women's 20km race walk.

   Bronze in that race for Anisya Kirdyapkina means that of the nine medals up for grabs, Russia has claimed six, including three gold, two silver and one bronze. 

   Park Chil-sung of South Korea set a national record of 3 hours, 47 minutes and 13 seconds in the race walk Saturday, finishing in seventh place in the day's only morning event, Yonhap News reported.

Park Chil-sung of South Korea Yonhap News

   Park, 29, kept pace with the leaders halfway through on a loop course in downtown Daegu. He cracked the top 10 with about 15 kilometers left and came through for the country's highest finish in the 50-kilometer race walk at the world championships.

   It was also the third South Korean record set at the competition, following Kim Kun-woo in the decathlon and the men's 4x400-meter relay team.